Lost Opportunties/Jobs Due To Online Searches

A friend from our Mikeyssmail community has lost out on a job opportunity due to what is searchable online.

The questions are:

  • Does this person now try to remove what is searchable from the internet?
  • Does this person delete Facebook and any other accounts where it is searchable through online google searches.
  • Does this person keep their extra curricular activities from the view of the public?
  • Should this person be grateful that if they had a problem with her extracurricular activities that it’s a good thing she isn’t hired?

With jobs being hard to get these days, could the internet be responsible for missed job opportunities as a result of what can be searchable. I am thinking about myself right now… if I were to job hunt… what can be searched on me is enormous due to the level of internet usage, and programs I use throughout the net. My online dating profile even pops up in the search engines… It’s no mystery on how to locate me or see what I am doing online. I write enough blogs, and post so many videos that it’s hard to lie during an interview because my online presence be as strong as it is.

Our community member lost her job due to her online searchable items through video and written format. This has been confirmed. The interview happened. During the extra curricular part of the question, she answered her questions and then revealed one of her extra curricular activites that revealed her home / family life. She was told that they had watched and seen some of her materials she had posted online. She was commended for her honesty at the time… but was overskipped as the company wanted no association to her lifestyle. It’s a question why they bothered to interview her in the first place if they had already seen the stuff. They should have just skipped over her.

SO I asked her… what is she going to do if the searching of her name is a problem for getting a job?

She responds, “I am who I am. If the company I am about to work for is going to have an issue with me due to my orientation, it would probably be best I never work for them in the first place and for them to find out afterwards.”

I say… “Well isn’t that descrimination or unfair to judge your abilities to what you do in your own home and how you choose to live your life?”

She responds, “You can be the best at what you do… but the person who pays you weekly can’t see how diverse the world has become and changing, do you really want to be the person who takes the time to educate this person?”

Having been there and done that myself… I would answer NO.

It is someone else’s loss but our girl who has lost opportunity has also lost because the opinions are already formed prior to meeting her. This company also missed out on the vast contacts and relationships this women has formed throughout the years. This would have been an excellent opportunity for this company to bring on someone who had these contacts for their own marketing strategies.

It’s another example to be careful what you post… people judge based on what they read. People are watching, and yet we aren’t privy to know who they are.

Michael

1 Comment

  1. Sarah said,

    May 20, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    First of all, I am sorry about her situation. I wish the best for her and I am sure she would get hired. What we do online now is changing. We post personal things of our lives so our friends can be updated on what’s happening. So now companies are loooking at your profiles online and seeing your activities and what you do every day. If this is going to affect us on getting a job (especially in this tough economy), I would be safe about my activities and being careful what I post. Although it’s a free country, there are people that will be nosy and if they don’t like it, they won’t hire you. Thank you for this article. Gave me a heads up. P.S. Although, I do think that it’s not right to not hire you because of what you do in your personal life. It is being discriminatory. Life and work is seperate.


Leave a Reply

