Sweaters For All Sizes – The Problem

Mikeyssmail

Pattern Making

If I had a nickel for every email that came in requesting the Baby Imagination Sweater be changed to match an Age of a person, or size of someone I would be a rich man today! “Can I retire now?” haha

The problem with the imagination sweater is that someone has taken the time to create it. As you will see in my links, I didn’t create it… I only filmed it. But someone took the time to do the Math, testing and trials to make it work. So it’s a great pattern but people want it bigger? WHY? The answer is simplicity! It’s easy to Follow and quick to make!

So why haven’t I made bigger patterns? It’s because the possibilities are endless. The only people I have to fit this with is Diva Dan or Me. Both of us are not shaped like “Hot Models”, nor are we average! So what fits me, isn’t going to fit many people. Arm lengths are different. Circumference of the necks, arms, and waist lines would be different. So if I created a pattern, there would be have to be a million of me.

I want to create an adult version, problem is that by the time we get to adulthood. Some of us stay skinny, people like get rounded at the edges, and other people are obese. It’s difficult to make one size for all… Babies are predictable. Having said that… someone emailing me saying they have a 6 year old and want a sweater isn’t fair… Have you seen the schools today, many kids are not a standard size anymore. Like me, many are hooked on sugar and larger than they should be at their age. Standard isn’t standard anymore.

So I guess if I were to create a pattern, you would need to decide neck size to start… then work to shoulders… arm diameter and then make the body of the sweater…. then follow it by the sleeves. I am wondering if there is a simple way to do that… Maybe I have to think in terms of INCHES instead of STITCHES!

Any thoughts on this?

4 Comments

  1. cathy/chanel nofive said,

    May 1, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    It SEEMS like it would be easy to just double or triple stitch counts or change yarn or hook size but i tried it!!!! I thought i had all the math all figured out to change the baby sweater into a child size sweater and it was coming out all funky so i can imagine how changing it to an adult size would be hard!!!! Not as easy as it seems!!! maybe using different size sweatshirts or sweaters would be useful as guides to follow as guides for size and length and the just say small medium large for the pattern! good luck!!! 🙂

  2. Sherri said,

    May 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I changed it up for a sweater for my (very thin and tall) 6 year old and for a sweater for my 12 month old! I did the first 3 rows and layed it on their shoulders to make sure it was going to fit. There was a lot of trial and error but they both came out beautiful! In the case of my 12 month old the sweater just needed a few extra stitches added in here and there. For my 6 year old, I believe I doubled the original and used organic cotton yarn. The arms were great but the back was a little large so I put a white border on the sweater and when I did the top of the back I “gathered” it by skipping every other stitch accross the back! It turned out gorgeous!

  3. Richard Worrall said,

    May 1, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    You can get an idea of a basic sweater here.

    http://www.io.com/~cortese/crafts/raglan.html

    If you just want a pullover vest,
    Make 2 granny squares in what ever pattern that you like.
    One for he front and one for the back.
    Put them right sides together and sew up the sides
    leaving a space for the arm holes.
    Sew across the top where the shoulders would be.
    Leaving an ample hole for the head.
    Now you can go around the arm holes a few times
    to give a lacy look or just a simple look depending
    on your stitch.
    For the neck opening, you can easily make it into a boat neck.
    Just crochet round the neck opening and decrease at the shoulders.
    You could do more crochet and make it a Dickie or cowl collar.

    • Richard Worrall said,

      May 1, 2010 at 2:47 pm

      I forgot to mention that you can also go around the bottom
      of the vest after it is assembled.
      You should try a shrug. The basic Shrug is just
      a long rectangular piece the length of which is the distance
      between each or your hands with your arms outstretched.
      You make it wide enough for your arms to fit into it
      when it is folded in half.
      Sew up each side the length of your
      arms where the arms of the shrug would meet your shoulders.
      That leaves an opening for your head and body.
      Crochet around the hole in a circular motion and
      increasing stitches in each row. You can make this
      as big as you want.
      You can go around the sleeve opening where you hand comes
      out. Be as creative as you want with the stitches or as plain
      as you want.


Leave a Reply

