Volunteers Helping To Answer Mail

Volunteering For Mikeyssmail

Last Summer, I created “A Board Of Directors” who were charged with power to be able to see all communications and stuff inside Mikeyssmail. It was a terrific idea and it’s amazing how people who are passionate about Crochet really can make an even further difference.

In the fall of 2009, there was a problem discovered in Facebook Fan Page… It seemed when I gave someone moderator status, it changes their name to my own and uses my picture. So people could think it would be me if I was responding. As much I appreciated the help, I would prefer a moderator not loose their identity. The big names who constantly contribute would dissappear and appear under my name. You wouldn’t know that “Clare” from Australia was still with us because she appears to be me. So I demoted everyone back to regular status.
However, we still kept the YOU TUBE Mikeyssmail to have moderators. All the moderators could see the incoming comments and mail. With specific directions, mail was shifted in subfolders where someone who is trying to relay a story to me for personal reasons or wanted a person response. My moderators would slide the mail into a folder where I had to respond personally. Pattern requests and ect could be handled by the moderators without a problem.
So it was working great until it suddenly collapsed without me knowing about it. Actually a couple months went by and it was just me answering emails again. I just figured everyone had lives… none of the moderators said nothing about it… however, I think in retrospect, they probably thought I removed them off the receiving list.
You Tube did a fundamental change where the email you have when you create the account is the email it has to go to. I had it set up to go to another email where all of us could see it. I figured if 2 months went by and no one said anything… just let it be.
With the help of Clare from Australia, we were able to get the ball back up and rolling yesterday. All those who had access to it before can see it again. We had to do some computer lingo and batta boom batta bing, we had it all set up!
The moderator’s role is to assist in the responding and helping of emails. However, we don’t respond to everything. IE, we won’t put into someone’s YOU TUBE box “Thanks for subscribing”! I think that is redundant and unneccessary. Mikeyssmail builds by double digits each day for subscribership, it would be a great deal of work to do that.
The Facebook Fan Page site has changed the face of MIKEYSSMAIL, allowing everyone to post their pictures, videos, and comments. It’s countless how many times another viewer has assisted another. It has cut down the email greatly as a result of having this going. The way to quickly get my attention is to post stuff there.
So as I know right now, Clare from Australia is again answering EMAIL and requests along with me. If you have time or would like to participate, let me know… we can get you set up to see… I won’t just accept anyone for this role. I want positive energenic people who have been with me for a while. Someone who inspires and really enjoys helping others. It’s reasonable that you won’t answer emails every day and/or may need a break from time to time. Let me know… I don’t want any moderator on board that is trying to push a side business or trying to sell my viewers anything.
đŸ™‚ Michael
1 Comment

  1. harold Dorsett said,

    April 29, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    How do we email Claire and ask her questions? do we just post on your facebook page?


Leave a Reply

