What Humans Can Learn From House Flies!

House Flies... Team Workers or Loners?

This spring the house flies have been out in vast numbers at my house. At first, I was trying to ignore them; however, then they started to land on my eye glasses. My home office has bright heated lights and the heat from my computers were giving my office an ideal place for the flies to be.

I settled on a can of Raid and it certainly did the trick the first time but then I ran out. Went to the store and got a more eco friendly Raid and suddenly the flies are loving it. They are getting a cheapy high out of it and buzzing around me afterwards.

I broke down and settled on Sticky Fly Paper and I strategically placed them in two spots. I sat and waited for the first fly to land on it. It didn’t take long and I seen the first one hit and stick. Voila… problem solved. I knew I was going to sleep easy that night and walked away.

I came back an hour later and there were about 20 flies now stuck with plenty more still flying around. I figured, great, leave it up and catch them all. By morning, there were just a couple buzzing around and the paper had snagged most of them.

I got thinking about the flies and I figured there was poison on the paper because none of them are moving. I touched the first one to ever land and to my surprise, it was still alive. What appears to be dead flies are not. They are all still alive. I guess they will die of dehydration.

I found myself staring at it and wondered, “Why would the flies who are stuck not communicate with the rest of the flies to stay away?” Looking more into this, I notice the flies are randomly spread throughout the paper. It would appear that the flies aren’t helping each other at all. It appears a fly can’t pull themselves off but they are able to get 1 or 2 legs unstuck but then another part of their body will stick because it’s impossible for them to fly away without the kick off momentum. However, it doesn’t appear to be that sticky that another fly can come along and help it off, as long as they didn’t touch the paper.

This is a real life example of what non communication is like. The stuck flies should have screamed, “Stay away!” but somehow they can’t or they won’t. The flies aren’t looking after each other because if they realized working as a team would get each other off, they would do it.

In relationship to human terms. If we don’t communicate, how are the others to know about it? If we don’t help each other, we are all going to get stuck!  Even if we are the lucky one to made it over night, eventually we will all be caught.

Working as a team has its advantages. We are all professional colleagues who are working toward the common goal. Lets keep working together!

Michael

Leave a Reply

