Video Editing Software Killed My Computer

In the excitment of building my personal library of video tutorials on Youtube and pushing limits with the presentations of my videos using a number of editing software, I have actually sentenced my computer to death without really realizing it.

My computer is a Dell Inspirion and I love my computer. It’s Fast and Fabulous. A great investment but was never designed for what I would eventually need it for.

My computer is from Walmart and was a Fabulous super deal that came with a 22″ Monitor and I have thoroughly enjoyed it. I needed my computer to basically talk to friends on Facebook, MSN, save pictures and do a bit of work stuff from home. Over all, for what I have bought it for… it’s been a dream.

Over time, I got myself into video making using my home computer. What I never realized is that my computer is not designed to handle it. Essentially, right from Day 1 of starting to do editing on my machine, I have sentenced it to dealth. In 2 Years, my computer was run into the ground.

I have never paid attention to the DISC Speed need for the Mega Hertz to run the computer. I just seen Window’s Vista and said to myself…. it can handle it.

I knew something was wrong as it was getting slower and slower. The videos right from day 1 of editing have been lagging. For example, the sound is much further ahead then the picture. In a long video… You may have seen the first 1 Minute of video in broken apart still images, but you will have listened to STOPPING AND STARTING SOUND… It’s been hell to edit as I can’t really see my finished video until it’s done. It can take nearly 7 hours to RENDER a video… meaning create it to it’s final process…

After having my computer looked at… I’m guilty of abusing my computer and using it for purposes that it was never intended… Even if I buy another computer… I will still have the same problems. I can buy a Manufactured PC suited for video editing, but then looking at enormous costs… Instead… I am going to start building a computer from scratch with all the problem gadgets and gizmos it needs to survive what I want it for.

I am not sure about costs associated with building a new computer… but it may be some time before I am back up and running on video tutorials. There’s no point using Diva Dan’s computer as his was less capable of editing then mine was.

I’m hoping by a rebuilt one. Editing is merely minutes instead of hours. The length of editing time was killing my passion but I am hoping this will be changed.

So this is it… Here comes a new custom made computer eventually. My current machine is being fixed with a new hardrive and reformating the entire system. I’ve not lost any data I don’t think… but will be about 1 week before my old machine is available… and could be several weeks or months before my video editing computer is built… It’s all about the dollars invested and I may have to buy the parts I can afford it instead of all at one time.

🙂 Michael

Leave a Reply

