Out Of Touch At 36 Years Of Age

I hate to admit it… but I am out of the loop on some technology that you would have imagined I would be at the top of the game. I have figured out the secrets and stuff for a successful video tutorial series… but cell phones, mac books, and portable devices I am completely out on left field.

I had some friends over yesterday where I know these two are on the top of their game for technology. I used to think it was an unhealthy addiction to have the latest gadget. It always seems I am reading on Facebook that they have purchased the new up and coming technology, when they have had the old technology for less than a year. I guess if you have the money to burn, why not… No worse that someone collecting something or an addiction to drugs… the money will always be found. I’m no saint… I have my weaknesses too!

I came to realize, that my addiction and hobby is crochet and loom knitting. More so the power of the computer to keep it all function able, but their hobby is collecting and being first on the scene when something new comes along. They are essentially, the programmers guinea pigs and the first to know when something is a miss.

Realistically, I can afford the toys and gadgets of these two friends. But I lack the desire to own a cell phone. There is a known fact about myself. IF I HAD A HANDHELD COMPUTER AT MY SIDE ALL THE TIME… I would be looking for the opportunities to post a comment when I am walking around, shopping, driving, visiting people and more. I am truly addicted to the computer. However, the more time I spend on it… I see the results finally bouncing back in the way of advertising revenues from Google. So there’s a payback, albeit a small one in comparison to the time and resources I have put into this.
Why I don’t have a cell phone is clearly obvious. I HATE TALKING ON THE PHONE… I HATE CALLING PEOPLE… I have always felt that when I am calling someone that I am bothering them. If I call you, you will hear me ask a simple question… Is Now a good time to speak? Most people don’t consider when they call someone, that I could be in the middle of something and don’t wish to get into a lengthy conversation. Having said that… No one ever calls me… Email me is a better way… I am in control of when I read the information and when I choose to respond.
I’ve had some driver asking me at work about their new cell phones they bought. They assume that I know how to operate every brand. The biggest craze at the moment is the Blackberry Phone. There are some techno language which I don’t understand. I’ve not invested any time to understand what Blue Tooth means. I think it’s a brand of software but I’ve heard it being used in context in which that doesn’t make much sense either. I guess it’s like the word “GOOGL’ing”… to me it means searching… but to an amateur computer person, they think I am talking about a company.
So I am admitting that I am the modern day 80 Year Old who doesn’t understand computers or the technology that is currently available. With new technology comes a price associated with it. My former partner had a cell phone that was astronomical in monthly costs. The cost of our cellular, with home phone, and TV nearly topped 50-65% of the cost of our mortgage payment. DOES THAT MAKE ANY SENSE to be spending that much money with nothing to show for it at the end of the month?
Diva Dan and I have no cell phones. Our home phone and internet usage hovers between $70 – $90 per month. I think that is a hell of a great deal in comparison.
Maybe one day I will feel compelled to have a cell phone and a computer at my side every waking moment… but for now… I know I can’t handle it due to my addiction… so why add fire to the pot.
Michael
Leave a Reply

