So Freak’n CLOSED MINDED… Someone Misses Opportunity

My gawd, I am pissed! LOL

I was just “somewhere” where there has been a fundamental change. There is 1 video in my collection where it’s featured at a location. I made a deal with the owner before, I was not to mention the location or store name in the video. The video was for my own educational purposes for the viewer. The TRUTH is, I didn’t showcase this place in its entirety because the place was a dump. Many comments and emails were received about how nice the place was. But to honour the deal, I just went along with it and said yeah we are lucky!
WELL LADIES AND GENTLEMEN! I realized there was a huge fundamental change. A new owner came up to me. They have taken over and trying to make a great impression. So I was polite and said yeah I come into your place for blah blah blah and do you know there is a Youtube Video showcasing your establishment online?
Obviously, they knew nothing about it. I told him quickly my concept and viewership and whatever. They were more interested in trying to educate me about the changes, that they weren’t listening.
Here’s the truth! The place is now beautiful. It would be a place that would stun people in a positive way!
So graciously, I offered to go to my video collection. Change the video so that this place now has a name and location. THEY SAID NO! I told them that I didn’t shoot the rest of the location because of the dumpy way it looked and the people’s responses because I only shot the best part of the place. BASICALLY OUT OF CAMERA VIEW, no one would realize it was a dump.
I said, you are saying no… They said, you can change it to the location name, but not the store name. I said why? They said, well everyone knows where they need to come for their products they have in the store!
So I gave them the spiel, WALMART is taking over, to support the local people.
This brand new owner, as ambitious as they are. Doesn’t really get it… HE DOESNT GET THE POINT THAT PEOPLE HAVENT BEEN GOING TO THE LOCATION BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT WAS. TO GET PEOPLE TO COME BACK… YOU HAVE TO CONVINCE THEM WHY THEY NEED TO?
I wasn’t pissed with the owner, but I am pissed that people missing opportunities that are right before their eyes. My new mentor, who is in charge of Sales at my work always rides me about missing opportunities. He sees skills in me that I don’t always see. OMG if he was with me, he would have walked out with me saying OMG, this person has no clue.
NOW HEAR ME… I’m not on a rant because I am powerful online. I’m NOT ALL THAT… MIKEYSSMAIL is not the solution of all solutions. What I was offering was FREE. The millions of viewers are from historical trust built up with viewers. Of a local paper that reaches 7,000 people… you would have thought that someone would want to tap into a market place where millions are paying attention.
TOO NARROW MINDED and CLOSED MINDED to see Potential.
The market has changed, have you?
Leave a Reply

