Defining Friendships On Facebook

What compells you to be friends with someone on Facebook?

Are the friends you choose real friends or just cyber connections?
How do you determine if a friendship is real or not?
So many questions roam around in my mind about this.
Earlier today, I deleted a “wacK” of people off my list. Nearly most of them were childhood connections and people that I knew in real life. Even some family connections were deleted.

Does that seem too harsh?

People find each other, talk for a short time and then fade into the shadows but still receive my updates. I’m pretty open about my life on Facebook where Daniel has pulled back. So if you need to know what’s happening in Diva Dan’s life. Simply be my friend and you will see all the photographs and such.

With my Mikeyssmail Network… I am constantly updating. Finding links and responding to viewers. For me… Facebook allows me to talk to many without much effort.

I would say that 95% or more friendships I hold on Facebook are cyber friends whom I have never met. I have encouraged connection… Some people are just more curious about who Diva Dan and I are. So they become a friend on Facebook to see pictures and so much more.

A few people on my list were deleted that I know in real time and that I actually speak to in person frequently. Problem that exists for me are the following:
Did they become my friend because they care?
They are nosie on what is happening in our lives.
Are they mentally taking notes and quietly sitting in the shadows?

It was a tough decision to delete people off of my Facebook that I actually associate with in real life.

When Trever and I split, I had to go through my Facebook and determine who was my friend, who was not. I had to sort out who would be the friend to reveal to Trever what is happening in my life by reading over my Facebook. As a result, a number of people were deleted. I felt compelled to seal up the holes.

Yes… I have the time to constantly update and share what’s happening. Some friendships that I know can’t see the full picture if Daniel and I are not a friend together. Daniel has retreated off of Facebook. For him… he’s lost interest in it. What is interesting is that when I am in the company of someone who I know… and yet never uses Facebook to communicate… they are very much in the know.

So my criteria for deletion was very simple. If someone has made me a friend… and yet never sends a comment… an email… or writes anything… but is sitting in the shadows… That’s Grounds For Deletion. There’s really no point of having a connection if that connection is silent.

There’s a huge difference to me being friends with a viewer and someone whom I know in person. The viewers and I are sharing ideas constantly and I am growing as a result of it.

I guess in the end, I have to determine who is a friend, who is there because they are nosie, and who are there sitting quietly making heads and tails of our lives.

Leave a Reply

